Nutty Galore; Raw Cacao Pistachio Cake with Hazelnut Butter

Raw cakes are easily my favourite treat to make. It’s so convenient to through a mix of ingredients into a blender and just pop it into the freezer. Perfect if you’re preparing for a dinner with friends and need to pop out quickly without worrying that you’ll return to find your house is now just a pile of ashes.

Another great thing is that you don’t need any sweet additions other than fruits, nature’s own candy, and can easily pack in a bunch of nutrient dense ingredients like nuts, superfood powders and even vegetables.

The other day I made a fantastic “normal” cake for my family that involved two layers of moist chocolate cake and the most delicious peanut butter frosting wedged in-between and smothered on top. The recipe was from James Duigan‘s, the king of healthy eating, Clean and Lean Diet Cookbook. As it happens this is what was served at this wedding to his gorgeous wife Christiane. To say that I was jealous of that glorious indulgence of a cake is an understatement. I dreamt of it for the next consecutive nights, and that was without even trying it!

This weekend marked a year since my first date with my boyfriend so as I was feeling a bit nostalgic and seeing the world through rose coloured lenses, I could only think of marking this occasion by having a treat inspired by that wondrous feeling. And wham, my thoughts rushed back to that PB and chocolate cake.

So I started thinking; how can I make it a bit more guiltless? A little rummage through the cupboards, a pinch of this and that, and voila, the following masterpiece was born! So good, and as it’s only natural ingredients you can eat it with good conscience… unless you eat it all by yourself….. cough cough.. 😉

Please note that I mostly blend things with feeling and eyeballing rather than actual measurements that I cannot guarantee that the following are correct, but look at it as a rough guide and go with what your gut tells you.

Screen Shot 2015-02-28 at 21.13.30

 

Leave a comment