Cake for breakfast?

Good morning!

As a treat after having had some very long days for the final week of my Pilates teacher training course (review post will come up soon) I meant to have a lie in this morning (9.00 was the plan, anything after that I can’t stay in bed) and a nice slow start.  What happened? I wake up at 6.47 and at 7.30 I’m raring to get up. I really am the worst person for sleeping in.

So instead I decided to treat myself with a yummy breakfast. Usually this would be banana pancakes, but I felt like trying something new, so after some inspiration searching on Instagram and blogs, I came upon this single serving chocolate cake by Chocolate Covered Katie. (I highly recommend her blog for healthy versions of your favourite desserts that don’t leaves you feeling cheated on taste.) I based my breakfast cake on her recipe with some slight tweaks, and thus the Banana Berry Chia Breakfast Cake was born!

Image

It was absolutely perfect, especially topped with Katie’s amazing Healthy Fudge Frosting.  I think this will become a new staple.

Banana Berry Chia Breakfast Cake with Chocolate Covered Katie’s Healthy Fudge Frosting

gluten, dairy and nut free, vegetarian, vegan (if using hemp protein or flour)

serves 1

  • 3 tablespoons Bodyism Protein Excellence Vanilla (or any other vanilla protein powder, oats, or flour)
  • 1/4 tsp baking powder
  • 1 small banana, mashed up
  • 3 tablespoons unsweetened almond milk (or any kind you like)
  • 1/2 tsp chia seeds
  • 1 tbsp frozen mixed berries (can of course be fresh but this is what I had at home)

(For the frosting recipe, please see Katie’s blog. I, roughly, halved the measurements for one serving on the cake).

Mix together the dry parts in a microwaveable bowl or mug, then add in the mashed banana, milk, chia seeds and berries. Microwave for a minute or so until at your desired consistency. Top with frosting.

Smugly savour it as you think of what your mother would say if she knew what you were eating.

IMG_1093

Nutrition facts (with frosting):

Screen Shot 2013-10-19 at 09.21.37

(Calorie Count nutrition rating: B)

2 comments

Leave a Reply

